Embracing Beauty

As a little girl, I played with my mother’s make up. Playing dress up in her clothes that she no longer wore. It was act of mimicking what I saw. I longed to be grown up and make up was very grown up. My mom wears make up on a near daily basis, and I began wearing it off and on during my middle school years. A habit that has continued onto this day. Some days I wear want to wear it and others I barley get some on at all.

This past week I got to have my make up done. This may not seem like much but it is not often that I get to have this done. I can count on one hand the number of times I got to have this done. This last time was for a work luncheon for my day job. All of us got to be glammed up as part of the celebration. It was fun and weird having so much attention on me. From the amazing young lady who did my make up to the reactions garnered once it was done.

By the end of the day though I was just itching to wash my face. Thankfully, throughout the day I was comfortable as my skin was able to breathe. Washing it off felt wonderful though! I usually wear minimal amounts of make up if any at all. I am grateful for the genes I inherited that has given me skin that I do not feel the need to wear any make up. I am also grateful that I am comfortable in both states.

But not everyone is. So many woman feel naked without their “face” on. And others, like me can get along just fine with or without it. I think it is important to be comfortable with and without.  Embrace the story your face tells either way. Whatever the reason you have to wear it or not wear it, embrace the woman you are in total. You are complete and beautiful whether or not you wear make up.  Enjoy what make up can do but also enjoy the natural beauty that is already there.

[Tweet “Enjoy what make up can do but also enjoy the natural beauty that is already there. “]

Make up has power to give the person wearing it to have confidence in themselves. To reflect themselves from the inside out or vice versa.Then when you do get glammed up, be sure to get photos! Take photos sans make up too. Celebrate your beauty.

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on April 25, 2016, in Celebrate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

