Mid Week Motivator: Cutting out Excuses

I cut my hair after two years of growing it out. I loved aspects of having long hair. I enjoyed playing with hairstyles and most especially the excuse it gave me to not run.

Why? Because if I ran as often as I should then I would have to wash it. Honestly, I used this a reason to not run or even work out hard. Taking the time to wash it was just too much to deal with for me. I do not tend to use a blowdryer. It was just a convenient excuse.

My hair had become my hinderance. So it was time to cut it out. I chose to donate my hair to the Pantene Beautiful Lengths which provides for women going through cancer treatments. Cutting off the extra hair did not magically make go out and run. But it did give me one less excuse to not go.

Since cutting my hair, I have resumed my running ritual. [Tweet “The thing about excuses is that they can be so easy to believe. “]Just as getting into running is a habit, getting out of it is as well. It became easier to not go than to go. But I am changing that, I need to run. I have stated this in previous posts.

And so I begin again. That is what I am doing these days, running four days in a row, two days of static exercises and one day of rest. So far, so good I have to say.

I am enjoying my new short hairdo too!

 

 

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on April 13, 2016, in Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

