Mid Week Motivator: Healthy Eating, Healthy Budgeting

Eating healthy on a budget is hard. Believe me when I tell you that it can be done! It means making different choices than you are in the habit of making. It does take time, to plan meals ahead, prepping and cooking. What follows is a list of what works for me to eat well on a tight budget.

Plan & Strategize

I know what I’m getting before I walk through the doors of any grocery store. Along with my list, I have a strategy. Start with the fresh fruit and vegetables. Then that weeks necessities etc. When I don’t do this I end making more impulsive purchases. By not making impulsive purchases this helps my budget.

Shop Around

I shop at a few stores. It may seem like work but it’s worth it. Some weeks I go to two different stores, other weeks three or one. It depends on sales, my time and how much I need to buy. My favorite places are close by, Aldi, Publix and from time to time Wal-Mart. At Aldi I get the majority of my fresh fruits and vegetables. Publix has the few items I can’t find at Aldi for the right price. Wal-Mart fills in the gaps.

Eat Similar Foods

I’m not saying to eat the same things day in and day out. However by purchasing similar foods each week, the budget is healthier. Plus it makes the planning aspect far easier to do. I know where my items are located so my shopping trips are rather quick. There is no hemming or hawing. Or for those unplanned items to not end up at home. 

By buying healthier foods, it means more cooking at home (something I will touch on next week). The temptation to run through a drive thru is simply not an option. Either because the funds aren’t there or even better something tastey waiting at home. That is the best thing ever. 

 

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on February 3, 2016, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

