Story Monday: Bookshelf Purge

image

Box of books ready for donation

We all have those books that mean more to us than others. It struck me recently as I paired down my bookshelves that there were some books I always keep. And my hope to one day live in a tiny house means I will need to choose which books to keep and which to purge.

After all I won’t have much room to store them. By giving away books I have no interest in reading again, I am giving someone the opportunity to enjoy them. For them to do more than collect dust on my shelves.

Doing this can be hard. Feeling as if I am now betraying these works who live on my shelves. As a book lover, it is within me to keep all the books. However, practically I cannot continue to keep them.

In future I am going to put aside those books I have no desire to read again. To either give them away to my friends or donate to my local library, hospital or nursing home. Yes, I could also sell them to a used book store. However the danger here is then returning home with more books!

What a great way to help the community? By giving the gift of story?

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on November 2, 2015, in story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

