Story Monday: Preparing For Nanowrimo

image

In just a months time will begin Nanowrimo,(National November Writing Month). A chance to write your own story! This takes place during the month of November.

Thirty one days to let go and let your story come to life. You can join a community of writers both online and in real life. Which I highly encourage as it helps to motivate. Seek out local write ups, follow the hashtags #Nanowrimo #nano on Twitter.

It is a month to finally write that first draft that has been waiting to come out. The story you have been waiting to write. Use this month to prepare, plot and think. November first will begin the mad dash of an entire month of writing!

I have participated in years past and while I never “won” (meaning you have a word count of 65,000 to 80,000 word count) . But it did push me.
I learned how to push through those hard days. Close up plot holes .To look at the bigger picture of my story
Gain confidence in my skills.

At the end what you will have is a full first draft, ready for you to work over. Please do not send off your Nanowrimo draft to publishers. It will need polish. And research which agents to send your novel off to. Again Twitter is a great tool for this.

Due to my schedule this year, I will not be able to participate this year. But during this month I will use my Mid Week Motivator posts to give tips and encourage those of you who choose to participate.

Happy writing!

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on October 5, 2015, in story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

