Mid Week Motivator: Eating Out

image

So it’s been a few months since you’ve begun to eat healthier. Staying in and cooking has helped to keep track of what you eat. Bringing lunch to work has become a new habit too.

Inevitably at some point you will eat out. Perhaps it is a night out with friends or an unplanned meal. Either way, these are some tips on making good choices.

The good news is these days most restaurants offer healthy alternatives.  These usually have the calorie count next to them. What can be the downfall is the bread or chips left on the table. I know I have a hard time saying no to them! How to cope? If you desire, take a few then pass it away from your easy reach. I find I hesitate to ask for more if I have to ask for it to be passed to me. Of course you can always say no, but really how often does this actually happen?

Appetizers are another area to navigate it can be hard to say no once they reach the table. I usually do not go for appetizers but if they are ordered I use the same strategy as with the basket of bread.

Going for the salads doesn’t always mean it’s healthy. It can be drowned in dressing or full of cheese.

Split or share a dish, you can still enjoy a favorite dish by having far less of it.
Then of course there is desert, someone
Inevitably suggests it right? Again here the bread basket strategy comes into play, or order coffee or tea. This will give your hands something to do while the others eat.

When I know I’m going out to dinner or lunch I adjust my food for the rest of the day. That days workout is stepped up a notch too, especially since I know exactly what I want to eat.

You may eat too much or linger over that bread basket too long. Don’t beat yourself up over it. Enjoy the meal, enjoy the time with loved ones. Getting too much in your head about your food makes you bad company. What you eat will soon be digested. What is important is the choices you make afterwards. To continue eating well. It’s a balance, enjoying food while gaining health.

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on March 11, 2015, in Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

