Those Sexy Blog Posts

image

Not my Hershey, could be his cousin though

Blogging is not easy or for the faint of heart. In my first blog, it was more of a journal only available online. I stopped writing it when I realized I did not know what to write about. Starting up this blog, (and soon to be website ) was different.

Firstly, my writing skills had improved from that first blog. Not only technically, but I also had gained confidence. Having recently finished the first draft of my novel ( a story I had been carrying with me since my teens). Finally, I had a story to tell. Becoming healthy, gaining confidence in my body and my writing. I found my voice.

That is where I began. Telling the story of how I became healthy. The longer I wrote, my voice began to expand into other subjects. Our lives are not lived in these separate categories, at least not as much as we like to think. The more I realized this, the more I began to focus on my faith, writing, running and eating well as a whole. Each aspect feeds into another and not writing about them feels false to me.

I am not a weight loss expert, but I am an expert on my weight loss. I am not a theologian but what I am learning about God is valid for me to write on it. When I write about writing, it focuses more so on my journey in this so far.

I just hope to reach others out here in the vastness of the internet. To help give you a boost, to encourage as I have been encouraged. Which is why I tend to not jump on latest internet band wagon. Because, so often whatever is making the rounds is just not in my wheelhouse.

I could chase after the sexy subjects, blog about yoga pants or condemn a certain film that has been blogged to the death. Adding my voice to the glut already crowding my Twitter and FB pages. It could get me the comments or retweets and likes. Perhaps even new followers.

I could do that, or I could be authentic.

After posting such articles, my new readers would quickly discover I am not that kind of blogger. Just as quickly they would unfollow me and move onto the next blogger. I leave the sexy, internet is on fire posts to those bloggers who do have those subjects in their wheelhouse. I will continue to learn and grow this blog. Continue to grow my authentic voice in the hopes it helps others. When I do write about a sexy subject, it will be when I have something to say authentically and from my heart.

Question For You, Dear Reader
What draws you to read a blog and typically how long do you follow one?

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @LindaSConnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly or my Facebook Page Lindasharonconnellywritingservices

Posted on February 22, 2015, in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

