Organization Is Key

image

The other day, as I was finally tackling the disaster that my desk had become I came across a bill. A bill due that day that I had tossed onto my desk thinking I would just remember. Of course I did not because I was not organized. The photo up top is not my desk but in terms of messiness it is close to the state it was in.

So I began to straighten up my desk. As I did so, I realized that my desk was not the only thing disorganized in my life. How I have been using my time was in just a bad a state. I have to be more intentional about how I do use my time.
Especially as I seek work freelancing, writing for this blog and my fiction work. Not to mention all the other things in my life. My day job, volunteering, time with family and friends. And of course working out.

To combat this issue I pulled out some construction paper and a permanent marker. On one sheet I wrote out all my monthly bills, the dates they were due and amounts. Then on the other sheet, I wrote out the days of the week. Underneath each is exactly what I intend to do with my time. It is not any different from what I was already halfway doing. But now, seeing it written out helps me. I did not assign any times of day to my tasks, I often feel doing that makes it more stressful. While I do like To Do lists, I do not like them to be rigid. I enjoy flexibility in my life.

My hope in being more intentional and organized with my time, that it will lead to success. Success on the full sense of the word. To not only earn most of my income through writing by the end of this year. To also do all the things well in my life. Being a daughter, sister, friend. Balancing work, writing and ministry as well. Not to mention scheduling time to read, binge on Netflix and exercise. Allowing myself to reboot. Without ensuring that, then nothing can ever be done well.

This isn’t new for me, I have always enjoyed organizing things in my life. It’s the consistency in keeping them organized where I falter.

How do you help keep yourself on track?

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on January 25, 2015, in Goals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Staying consistent can be difficult! But it sounds like you are already coming up with some methods that work for you which is half the battle.

    I personally find that, in addition to having the week laid out (like you mentioned), updating a daily to-do list can be helpful as well. This allows you to adjust for any unexpected things that might pop up throughout the week, as well as makes you aware of how well you are using your time on a regular basis. I usually write a quick one out each night before I go to bed. Really helps me stay on track the next day!

    Hope this helps!

    Lauren

    http://www.SeeChangeOrganizing.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

