One Year, One Word

image

It seems as if my word for this year chose me. I was not thinking about a word or even seriously considering a word when it went and chose me instead. These past few years I have subscribed to the idea of choosing a single word to define my year. Doing this instead of writing out a list of soon forgotten resolutions.

By focusing on one word each of these years, it has been an adventure. Each year I have grown and matured. Often facing hard truths about myself in the process. Each time I have been Stretched. Each time it has been a good, but not always easy thing to get through.

I have moved forward with so many goals and achieved so much more. I can not tell you if it was because by choosing a word instead of placing a list of to do’s on myself the pressure was off. Pressure of not living up to an arbitrary list.

Perhaps that was the key all along. The desire to do better, attempting new things was always there deep in my heart. After all it was the same list year after year. But after focusing on one word and seeing how much more I accomplished.

Funny that.

As I stated above, my word for this year snuck up on me. In fact I did not consider this word until I reread a previous blog post. It stuck up out at me like a beacon.

Stretched. It occurred to me that each word that I had chosen in the past had done just that in their own way.

Stretched. Each word had grown me in so many ways.

Stretched. I look forward to seeing how this will play out in this new year.

Do you choose a word? How do you begin the new year?

 

Register your word on the One Word 365 website

Photo Credit: Erica Rodriguez (Mua Loa Photography Inc.) @mualoaphotog

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

