The Year of Boldness

image

I chose the word BOLDNESS as my word for 2014. This was my third year choosing a word to define my year. My first year it was YES, the following year it was LOVE. Each year has been full of change, surprises, and growth.

This year has been no different. I was not sure what boldness would like for me. That I would be able to live up to it. I had a lot of goals for this year, some were forgotten or left half done. Others were pursued.

I have achieved some of my goals but not all of them. My website is currently being designed and should be live by the end of January. I began to work for a growing marketing company as their in house copy writer.

But there were some writing goals I did not continue to work on. My fiction work took a hit as I focused more on my blog and my work with the company. Plus my battle with laziness and fear also came into play.

I allowed fear to hold me back from pursuing more freelance writing gigs. One of the reasons I held back was that I did not have internet at home. While I could use wifi out in public it was a cause of immense stress for me. Now I have installed internet which will allow me to do the work without added pressure of time constraints.

Slowly, I am working on my fiction. A new story is coming together. I also plan to pick up my other novel, edit it and (after a deep breath) querying it.

This past February I ran my first half marathon. Seeing what my body, in this healthy state can do is the best gift. I hope to run another one this year or next.

I am still single and it has not always been easy I must admit. However, God has really grown me in this season. Trusting Him in the plans for me instead of my plans.

God has used me to minister to the young adults in my church. I pray to continue to be used in this way for as long as God wants.

My friend ships have grown deeper. From these women I am learning how to love well. To see Jesus in every relationship and aspect of this life.

Is that living boldly? I don’t know if that is bold enough. It was however, a growing, stretching year. I have not decided whether or not I will define 2015 with a word. Whether or not I choose one, my prayer for this coming year is to continue to grow and be stretched.

What are your hopes for 2015? How do you feel about 2014?

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on December 28, 2014, in Goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

