Mid Week Motivator- I Did Not Win

This past month was Nanowrimo ( National November Writing Month) and I chose to participant once again. I have yet to win this thing and this year was no different. I went into it this year with the vaguest of ideas, and it showed. Unusal for me was the way I bagan this one. It started with an idea instead of a character. This proved to be a challenge for me. I always begin with a character, with the story forming around this person.

It was not until the end of the month that I finally had a break through. Finally figuring out who my main character is changed the whole story. This has changed the whole story but for the better. Believe me when I say that.

I went into Nanowrimo unprepared and I lost. This is alright though. Writing is a process, as we are told. Sometimes we writers get in our own way too. I broke all the rules of writing. I did not protect my writing time well enough. Not to mention that this was the busiest time at my day job plus my new writing job, my time and brain were drained.

I did get the start of my story. An idea that is rather exciting and will surely challenge me.

That at the end of the day, is what matters. Goals may have to move or change. Story may change but as long as there are words on the page ( or computer) then all is not lost. I have not truly lost.

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on December 3, 2014, in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

