Why Do We Enjoy Being Scared

Last weekend my best friend and I went to Halloween Horror Nights at Universal Studios in Orlando, Fl. We paid to enter into haunted houses and have people scare us. Standing in line for more than hour for The Walking Dead house.

It occurred to me, we are weird.

Seriously weird.
image

There is some level of control at these places. The actors are restricted from touching you and we have an out. If it becomes too much, we get to have it stop.

Something not always available in real life. When scary things happen we do not get to prepare for it. I do not know how long it the situation will last.

Upon entering the houses I knew that I would also emerge unharmed. Perhaps my heart would beat faster, but that would be all.

Scary movies, haunted houses allow us to explore our fears in a relatively safe environment. Where the scary monsters are more tangible than those that chase us in our everyday lives.

Perhaps that is the attraction. And of course the best part is not being alone. So many times in our lives we have to face the scary, hard things alone.
image

I knew through out the night my friend was not far behind. The same can’t be said in real life. That was a comfort.

How do you handle fear? Why do you think we enjoy haunted houses and scary movies?

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @LindaSConnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly or my Facebook Page Lindasharonconnellywritingservices

Posted on October 27, 2014, in Friendship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

