Midweek Motivator

This is a repost and a needed reminder for myself as well.

It’s Wednesday, that halfway point where it is nearly the weekend and yet it still is far away! This also means you are either halfway through your workout week or just about to start. Perhaps you have a tight schedule and the idea of adding an hour long workout to your schedule is just too daunting.

Not to worry, this happens to me as well. Those days of schedule overload are tough. Sometimes it means reevaluating your workout schedule. I had to do this myself recently.  Tuesdays and Thursdays are particularly tough to get in a good workout. After a longer day at work, I have obligations in the evenings that leave me with little time to get home, change and eat dinner. Forget about getting in a decent workout! Plus I allowed the time constraints to be a bit lazy on these days.

For months I have struggled to do something on these tight days, never feeling as if I was really accomplishing anything. Then it hit me one day, I usually take one to two rest days per week from working out. I moved my off days to those two days where my schedule is the busiest. Suddenly I felt as if a weight had been taken off my shoulders! Why did it take me so long to see this solution?!

From time to time it’s good to step back to reevaluate. Assess what is working and what is not in your workout schedule. Are you accomplishing new goals or just stuck in a work out rut? Simply changing the days you work out can add and help your goals.

On those days when time is tight, I modify my planned workout. Whether it’s a quick cardio or focusing on one aspect of my body.

It can feel weird taking days off in the middle of the week, I know that’s why I resisted doing so for so long. Once I began to think about it, my workout week was just starting on Friday instead of Sunday. I’m getting the same number of workouts in per week just on a different schedule. There are times when it is better to be rigid and other times where it pays to be flexible.

Hope this can be helpful for those of you struggling to fit in a good workout in the midst of a busy week.

Don’t let the busyness of life get in the way of self care. The week isn’t over yet, there is still time for getting in good workouts!

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on October 23, 2014, in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

