What Am I Worth?

One of aspects of becoming a freelance writer is figuring out how to charge for my services. I have found this to be rather diffcult.  I wanted the internet to dictate to me how much I am worth. Honestly I wanted to come across a list or table that would help me in this regard. I kept coming across the same advice, charge what your time is worth. 

Charge what my time is worth.In my mind this translates into charge what you are worth. This has forced me to examine what I believe myself to be worthy of charging for my services. All my working life I have been told you will be paid x amount for this  number of hours. The worth of my time, talent and abilities was already set for me. I was told what I was worth in terms of an hourly rate. 

 

However starting out as a freelancer, it was now up to me to decide what my time, talent and abilities was worth. Then, I realized that I was not sure what I am worth. How does one translate that into a monetary figure?This is where I got stuck. What is my time worth? What am I worth?

This is a hard question and perhaps I am over thinking. So much of my journey has been discovering my worthiness. As I grow in my relationship with Christ I have learned that I have been made worthy. It has been a struggle figuring out who I am. That my writing is worth being paid well. I had to let this wash over me. It seemed somehow preposterous that anyone would want to pay me for writing. But they have. They have come back to for repeat service. Which is what drives me to continue to  pursue writing.

 

After much some contemplation and prayer I came up with prices, depending on the project. Some will likely take longer than others. I hope for a variety of work that challenges and grows my skills not only as a writer but also as a person. This is not just about making a living but living a life well. 

 

 

I am based in the South Florida area. I offer services in tutoring, editing, content, copy writing and more. Contact me at Lindasharonconnelly@gmail.com for prices.

 

 

 

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on June 9, 2014, in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

