Mid Week Motivator- Loving my Body

This is a repost from earlier this year. Thank you for reading!

Since I lost weight over two years ago I have had to deal with how my body looks once I reached my goal weight. At times I obsess over it, getting down on myself on one aspect of my body. I realized I was allowing this one thing to overpower all the things I love about my body. It is time to stop the self loathing. I am going to talk about how much I love my body instead of criticizing those parts that I do not.

 

 

First my hair. It is thick and healthy. Every time I get my haircut the stylist comments on how lovely my hair is as they run their fingers through it.

 

Next my blue eyes. They are my most memorable feature. I have been told throughout my life that they are beautiful. When I look in the mirror I do not just see my eyes but the eyes of my mother and grandfather whose eyes were just as blue.

 

My nose, I like my nose. It fits my face well. Then there is my chin, my dimpled chin. Unique and perfect for my face.

 

Then there are my fingers. My long fingers that as I type these words remind me again of my mother. Her fingers were long and lean too.

 

I think of my hands and all that they do day and day out. That I have functioning hands to start with is in itself a miracle. With them I am able to write all I do, my thoughts become reality.

 

My arms, I admit I am rather proud of my upper arms. The muscles that have emerged since I have begun working out. I don’t even mind the bit of skin that tends to hang down from losing weight.

 

 

Then there is my legs. My legs which have run miles upon miles and it shows. My legs are indeed my best feature. They are something I like to show off wearing nice length skirts and shorts to show. Especially my calves, I love my calves. Though my toes are rather odd I love them too for they help keep me balanced and my feet. My feet where I first noticed the change in my body as I gained muscle and lost fat.

 

Now for the part of my body I am learning to love. My middle area. When I do gain weight this is where I carry it. This is where most of my sagging skin tends to hang. No matter how many core workouts I do or situps it will not go away. Depending on how I sit it can bulge out and I am self conscious of it. This is a part of my body that I am learning to love. The skin hangs because of all the hard work I put in becoming healthy. This skin is part of my story and perhaps some day I will have surgery to remove. Until that day, I will work on loving this part of myself as well. 

 I must embrace it as much as I do my blue eyes. I lack the confidence to wear a two piece because of it. But I am hearing of hight waisted two pieces that may solve this issue.

 

I love my body and all that it can do. I love how healthy I am and am learning  to not take this for granted. Our bodies are a miracle that they function as well as they do and loving it for all it can do is healthy. I love my body I really do. Every imperfect aspect of it. After all it was not myself who created this body but God. How can I loathe anything that He has created?

“For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.” Psalm 139:13

 

How have you learned to love your entire body?

 

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on June 4, 2014, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

