Mid Week Motivator- Telling Fear to Go Home

I always knew I wanted to tell stories. I loved books from the moment I learned to read. The attraction of television and movies was always the story. Deep down I knew I found what I was meant to do with my life. But I allowed Fear to hold me back.

 

Recently I have taken steps towards my dream of writing for a living. It has been exciting and scary. This means I have put myself out there. There is so much I do not know or yet understand. I am sure to make a few mistakes along way. I would like to think that if I waited until I was sure of every detail and knew every aspect of the business that everything would go perfect. If I did that then I would never get started. I could allow fear to hold me back as it has in the past.

 

All I know, truly know is that writing is what I was made to do. Everything else that I need to learn I will. Hopefully I am at a place in my life where I am not as stubborn and hardheaded enough to learn. To take those mistakes I will make ( and I am sure I will make plenty!) into positives. I am setting myself up for rejection. Yep. I went there. I know it will hurt and there will be times when I am discouraged but as long as I keep getting back up and send out my work that is all that matters.

 

Now I have my business cards in hand, and a list of to do’s that seem to keep growing by the minute! I also have support from friends and family who believe in me. Who may be concerned about my ability to support myself doing this but also know me enough that writing is the only thing for me. I’m staring fear in the face and telling it go home. This is my time and whether this endeavor blows up in my face or leads to a life long career I can say I tried. The dream of seeing my name on the cover of a book or on a byline is that much closer to becoming a reality.

 

 

 

Are you ready to tell fear to go home? What is your dream?

 

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @LindaSConnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly or my Facebook Page Lindasharonconnellywritingservices

Posted on May 21, 2014, in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Linda,
    I absolutely loved reading your blog. I can see here the author in you is already lying doormat just waiting to burst out. You have truly inspired me on today to keep pushing toward my dream of becoming a top producer in Real Estate here in California. Please keep writing because you already have a fan!

    Like

Leave a Reply

