Changing Goals

I had some goals for this month. The biggest one was to read through my novel and begin the process of querying. I breezed through the first part of the my manuscript and then coming onto the second part I hit upon several delays. First was discovering that I had misplaced a few chapters in my organizing a few weeks back. This meant that chapters that I had thought were just needing a final polish were in fact needing to be rewritten. Not a fun feeling, especially when I thought this part was already finished. My focus became split when I found I was spending more time on this blog than my manuscript. Then LIFE interrupted my plans. Several things had gone wrong here and as usual I had to step back and evaluate what was going on.

 

I had to realize that perhaps my heart was not as in the goal of preparing my manuscript for publishing. I do want to publish it but right now my priority is this blog. A lot of my time has gone into writing and improving posts. There were several times when I could have been working on my manuscript and instead just lounged around or did anything but work on it. I did not protect writing time well enough. And did not utilize time that I could have been writing such as those hours before work in the morning.

 

I also did not factor in all my obligations. At the time I had finished my manuscript, my plate was not nearly as full and so had plenty of time to work as I pleased. While I became fairly disciplined in setting aside two hours five to six hours a week this was no longer the case for me. Living a fuller life these days also means more obligations. All these things are good, having more social, work and ministry obligations are great. It also requires me to plan better.

 

I had to realize that my goals had changed. This happens. Life changes, our hopes and dreams change. It can be hard to let go or simply allow one goal or dream to sit aside for a moment. I am learning that it is possible to have more than one dream at a time. I want success with this blog and success as a novelist. In that line of thinking I am starting to let go of some of my obligations. This will help to free up the time I need to accomplish these goals. Also be more protective of my writing time by thinking before agreeing to doing this or that. Ultimately my goal is to make my living from my words. I know this will take time and effort, reading books from other dreamers like Jeff Goins and Kristen Lamb.

 

With this new outlook and focus I hope to be successful at both improving this blog and getting my novel published. It can be done. I just need to take the time to learn, get my words out there and not allow fear or laziness to get in the way.

 

How have your goals and how to achieve them changed over time?

 

 

 

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on May 5, 2014, in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

