I Failed and Lived…..

I have this problem, I doubt anyone else can relate called IMPATIENCE! I get excited about getting something done or doing something and instead of taking the time I should to complete a task I HURRY. It is something I will have to deal with throughout my life and it has gotten better over the years. But recently I dealt with something that showed me it is still very much part of my life.

This past previous week I had some technical issues posting my Mid Week Motivator. I was attempting to link to a previous post and it was just not working. The problem I realized was not the technology but me. I was hurrying to get something done and in doing so the job was short shifted. I could not wait to post so instead of waiting to do so after work that day I posted from my phone ( which I admit while it can do a lot is not the best kind of phone.) Once it was posted I did not have patience to wait for the preview to upload and instead just posted. Which lead to me having to delete the post from my Twitter and Face book accounts. 

I was anxious to post and was being lazy about getting it done. I did not want to have to change my afternoon plans in order to do so. In doing so I paid the consequence of being impatient. Over and over in my life I have encountered this and still have not learned my lesson. Sometimes taking the slow road is the best road. In doing this in a hurry I failed to present a good post for you dear readers. Freaking out over how terrible this looked on the outside did not help matters. How can I look professional when a post like that goes up?!

It also showed me I have a lot to learn about Word press and doing something as simple as linking a post. In every sense I failed this past week. That is just fine. Failing is part of life. In failing it is a chance to step back ( you can see this is something I advocate often!) and take in what went wrong. It showed me how much I need to learn and to find the resources to do so. It can be easy to get overwhelmed in starting something new from a career move to working out. No one ever achieves their dream with out failing first, how else does anyone learn? 

You know what? That is OK. You have to start somewhere and the key to anything essentially to keep moving forward. ( Again something else you will often hear me write about.) It would be easy to just give up after this week’s experience. To walk away from posting anything every again. In the past when I have run into problems in trying something I would just give up. However, I just can no longer do that to myself. One of the best things I learned on this journey is facing the failure can be tough but is worth it. There is much to learn from a bad posting experience or even a bad run. 

If you are in the middle of your weight loss journey and you are having a bad week or a bad workout, step back and think about what went wrong. Are you jumping ahead of your skill level? How has your diet and sleep schedule been. Have you been working out consistently?

Some questions I am asking myself are, what do I need to learn about Word Press. What are some of the best resources for me to seek out to learn. That is what makes a failure an opportunity. If I do not use this moment to learn only then is it truly a failure. You know what else I learned? The world did not end with this failure! My blog was not taken away from nor was I banned from ever posting again. I will fail I hope more often and in spectacular fashion. How else will my dreams ever come true?

 

Have any of you out there failed lately? What have you learned or are still learning from this experience?

 

About Linda Sharon Connelly

Email me at LindaSharonConnelly@gmail.com for freelance writing services in the South Florida area. Follow me on Twitter @writerconnelly Instagram @lindasconnelly

Posted on April 7, 2014, in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It’s only a failure if you give up and don’t learn from it. The fact that it bothered you and that you had to fix it shows that you care and are professional, don’t let your anxiety take away your goals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

